Microsoft names new board member nominations

By Pouyan Broukhim

US tech giant Microsoft has proposed the election of two new board members in its annual proxy statement released Monday.

The first of the nominees to be named is Penny Pritzker, former US Secretary of Commerce during the Obama Administration, and Founder and Chairman of private investment firm PSP Capital.

Pritzker was educated at both Harvard university and Stanford university, since going on to become a billionaire businesswoman, previously being named by Forbes as one of the top 100 most powerful women in the world.

In addition, she currently holds positions on the board of the Carnegie Endowment International Peace, the Aspen Strategy Group and acts as a co-Chair of the Cyber Readiness Institute.

See also:

The other nominee named by Microsoft is Arne Sorenson, current President and CEO of the multinational hospitality chain, Marriott International.

Sorenson has held his current post since 2012, having stood as a Director at Wal-Mart previous to his term with Marriott.

“Penny and Arne are both strong leaders with impressive accomplishments and contributions that span business and public service,” said John Thompson, independent Microsoft board Chairman. “They will serve as valuable additions to the board.”

Both Pritzker and Sorenson will be present at the company’s shareholders meeting, held 29 November, where a vote will take place on the appointment of the two nominees.


Featured Articles

Top 20 essential leadership resources for Black executives

To celebrate Black History Month, here are 20 resources for Black leaders – from business books to leadership coaches to business school exec programs

Broadridge study reveals huge impact of AI on C-suite

Broadridge Financial Solutions spoke to 500 C-suite executives from across the globe, many of whom said AI was significantly changing the way they work

PwC's Kathryn Kaminsky – the role of boards on social issues

As Vice Chair Trust Solutions Co-Leader at PwC, Kathryn Kaminsky says boards play an important role in helping businesses take action on social issues

Why your business needs a Chief Transformation Officer

Leadership & Strategy

12 top AI and ML trends for the enterprise in 2023 – Dataiku

Technology & AI

From NYC to Hong Kong, the rise of the private members' club

Leadership & Strategy