COVID-19: Trump suspends travel from Europe to US

By Amber Donovan-Stevens

US president Trump has announced that the US will be implementing a number of travel restrictions on Europe.

The outbreak of CoronaVirus (CORVID-19) has officially been labeled as a pandemic by the WHO. President Trump has announced that travel to and from Europe will be restricted with effect from Friday at Midnight, GMT-4. The UK is the one country exempt from these restrictions.

Trump announced that all travel will be suspended for 30 days. He shares that the US will continue to monitor the situation in China, and will make necessary amendments to the suspension as the country progresses. 

As a part of the agreement, these are the 26 Schengen countries whose citizens will be prohibited from travelling to the US: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

European countries not part of the Schengen zone, and so exempt from Trump’s ban are: Albania, Andora, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Ireland, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine, The United Kingdom and Vatican City.


This news comes shortly after Italy placed the entirety of the country on lockdown, as a means to prevent the virus spreading further. To understand what this means, see the details here

[image: BBC]

For more information on business topics in the United States, please take a look at the latest edition of Business Chief USA.

Follow Business Chief on LinkedIn and Twitter.



Featured Articles

Must-attend sustainability events for executives in 2022/23

Discuss and debate the most pressing issues around sustainability at these nine executive events – from London to Abu Dhabi, San Diego to Singapore

Meet the CEO on a mission to nurture women leaders in Africa

The argument for women leaders in Africa is compelling, yet numbers are small. But one female leader is on a mission to change that – Awamary Lowe-Khan

BCG's Daniel Weise on supply chain and procurement strategy

Daniel Weise, global leader of Boston Consulting Group’s procurement business line, on the timely publication of his new book, Profit From The Source

Flexible work perks heat up as the war on talent rages

Human Capital

Meet the COO: Former Israel Defense Force cyber lead Parnes

Technology & AI

People Moves: Pinterest, Amazon, DocuSign, KFC, Walmart Ca.

Leadership & Strategy